Call of Duty

Dallas Empire win the 2020 Call of Duty League Championship

After seven months of matches, Dallas Empire have been crowned the first Call of Duty League champions.

It was a rollercoaster of a year for the inaugural CDL season. Despite moving to an online format midway through the year, the league and players persevered to finish off the season in style.

Many were sceptical about the amount of money at stake for an online format at the Call of Duty Championship. However, there is no doubt that the best teams shone through and Dallas Empire thoroughly deserved the win.

After finishing second in the CDL standings, Dallas Empire were certainly favourites heading into the Championship Weekend.

Top seed, Atlanta FaZe, were simply overwhelmed by a dominant Dallas roster in the grand final.

Both Clayster and Crimsix now join Karma with three rings to their name. Huke, Shotzzy and iLLeY bag their first championship win and they did it in impressive fashion.

The 2020 Call of Duty League Championship was the most viewed CoD event in history. The event peaked at over 330,000 viewers.

Grand Final: Dallas Empire vs Atlanta FaZe

Dallas Empire started the best-of-nine series with a 1-0 lead as they came through winners bracket. The boys of Empire came out hot and swiftly extended that lead to 2-0 after taking the Azhir Cave Hardpoint.

This then turned into a 3-0 lead as Dallas took the third map and looked to be in the driver’s seat.

A second half comeback in the Domination sealed the fourth map for Dallas, putting them one map away from victory.

However, Atlanta were not backing down easily as they took their first map of the series making it 4-1.

Dallas did not want to hang around and closed out the series 5-1, crowning themselves champions.

Final Call of Duty League placings and prize money

Here is the final look at how each CDL team finished the year:

– 1st DALLAS EMPIRE ($1.5 million)

– 2nd ATLANTA FAZE ($900,000)

– 3rd CHICAGO HUNTSMEN ($600,000)

– 4th LONDON ROYAL RAVENS ($450,000)

– 5/6th OPTIC LA & TORONTO ULTRA ($300,000)


– 9/10th MINNESOTA ROKKR & PARIS LEGION ($100,000)


Did you enjoy that performance from Dallas Empire?

Let us know!

Follow Dartfrog for all the latest Call of Duty news and analysis onour TwitterFacebookInstagram, and Twitch.

Call of Duty

Call of Duty League Championship 2020: Format, schedule & more

The 2020 Call of Duty League season is nearly over. We’ve detailed everything you need to know ahead of the final event of the year.

After a turbulent inaugural season, the Call of Duty League is ready to award its first champions. All 12 teams will compete in playoffs for a chance to play at the Championship Weekend where the winners will be crowned.

Despite the event being played online, all teams will be giving it their all under the fairest circumstances possible.

How to watch Call of Duty League Championship 2020

The much-anticipated finale of the CDL season will begin with playoffs on August 19th. These matches will be played through to August 23rd with the best teams advancing to the Championship Weekend.

All four teams that make it to the Championship Weekend will play on August 29th and 30th.

Matches will be available to watch as usual on the official CDL YouTube channel. All streams are scheduled on the channel so make sure to set reminders for each day of the tournament.

Format & schedule

Due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, CoD Champs will be played online for the first time in its history. Teams already have experience of this as the rule was imposed midway through this season.

The CDL points accrued by the teams play a big part in their playoffs advantage. The higher seeded the team is, the less games they will need to win to make it to the finals.

Below you can find the official schedule for CDL Playoffs as well as the full bracket showing each teams starting point.

CDL teams competing

Here is a list of all 12 teams in order of seeding for CDL Playoffs:

– Atlanta FaZe (#1)

– Dallas Empire (#2)

– Florida Mutineers (#3)

– Chicago Huntsmen (#4)

– New York Subliners (#5)

– Toronto Ultra (#6)

– London Royal Ravens (#7)

– OpTic Gaming LA (#8)

– Paris Legion (#9)

– Minnesota Rokkr (#10)

– Seattle Surge (#11)

– LA Guerillas (#12)

Prize pool distribution

The CDL is offering the highest prize pool in Call of Duty history – $4.6 million. Here is how the pot will be shared out between the best teams:

– 1st place ($1.5 million)

– 2nd place ($900k)

– 3rd place ($600k)

– 4th place ($450k)

– 5/6th ($300k)

– 7/8th (175k)

– 9/10th ($100k)

– 11/12th ($0)

As well as the huge sum of cash, players will be competing for the brand new Call of Duty League trophy.

Will you be watching Call of Duty League Championship 2020?

Let us know! Follow Dartfrog for all the latest Call of Duty news and analysis on our Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitch.